• Whatsapp: +8613373397217
  • 24/7 ER : +8613373397217
  • mailbox: bjtsthospital@gmail.com
HOME > Lupus Nephritis >

Stages of Lupus Nephritis

  Stages of Lupus Nephritis


 Type 1
After diagnosis, your doctor will want to determine the severity of your kidney damage. The World Health Organization (WHO) developed a system to classify the five different stages of lupus nephritis.


  Stage 1 means there’s no evidence of lupus nephritis.

  Stage 2 is the mildest form, and it’s easily treated with corticosteroids.

  Stage 3 is the earliest stage of advanced lupus. Treatment requires high amounts of corticosteroids. The outlook remains favorable.

  Stage 4 is an advanced stage of lupus. There’s a risk of kidney failure. People with lupus nephritis in this stage require high amounts of corticosteroids and immune suppression medications.

  Stage 5 involves excessive protein loss and swelling. Your doctor will treat this with high amounts of corticosteroids. They may or may not give you drugs that suppress your immune system.


Kidney DiseaseMore >>